And Yet Another Reason We Shouldn’t Assume

Dont-Assume_v02

Want to make an ass out of you and me? One of the easiest ways to do it is to assume. Making assumptions is risky, full of ego, and typically inaccurate by its very nature, and yet most of us do it all of the time. I had a funny thing happen yesterday that reminded me of why it is not just with each other that we make this mistake, but also in the everyday things we do in our daily lives all by ourselves. We make assumptions based on many learned things including our underlying belief systems. Belief systems that include how truly amazing we believe we are as humans, while also thinking we hold the righteous power of being all knowing (when in actuality we don’t really know much about most stuff at all).

I just found myself making an assumption yesterday afternoon while I was trying to do a good deed by rescuing a stranded red ear slider turtle who was sitting in the middle of the road down the street from my house. He seemed to be either deciding this spot on the road was a great place to tan or that life was no longer worth living and he was choosing to end this go around via his last game of chicken. Either way, I quickly jumped out of my car, threw on my cape (and tank top with an “S” across the front) and rushed to the rescue of this obviously stranded, about to be killed, beloved pet.

I grabbed this beast, who I had inaccurately decided at the time was a tortoise, and called my daughter to come and take care of it while I went to go and see clients. She was game and took it upon herself to create a habitat for this large creature. Please note, this was no ordinary small turtle that one sees in a home aquarium. Oh no. This thing was impressive in its size coming in at hefty girth and being larger than a serving platter. I know because this made him unable to be placed in a large tupperware serving bowl which was the first thing that was thought of for a temporary home. He went in a box.

Something fun to note about this tortoise, who turned out to be a turtle (you can tell by checking their feet), is that he made this noise by expressing air in a very “balloon deflating” like manner when picked up. It was almost like all of the life was squeezed out of him in his surrender to being handled by myself and my daughter. Or like he was hissing in distress because he wasn’t used to being picked up and had never had human contact. “As if he had never had human contact” became the key statement to focus on as we realized after the fact that he was hissing like this because he NEVER had dealt with human contact and was not anyones pet. He was a totally wild, very large, turtle who I had wrongly assumed needed to be rescued. However, I get ahead of myself.

As I continued to fly my cape around my ever broadening shoulders due to my good deed kharma pouring in as I saved this creature, my incorrect assumption ended up causing me to do the most distressing thing that could have occurred to it. I came home and realized he needed to be in water as he was a turtle and not a tortoise. I put him in a ceramic bathtub filled with water, floating organic lettuce leaves (50/50 organic spring mix), and towels to help him get purchase on the slippery tub and be able to hold on to something. I created this ceramic jail to house this beautiful creature as I did what every good neighbor does when they have found a pet, I: posted on our neighborhood site, hit up facebook, went door to door, and looked for turtle rescues (yes, they exist).

All the while the turtle was miserable. It did not eat, drink or poo. Instead, it tried for hours to climb out of the tub and escape it’s artificial prison. It did this because it was a wild animal used to roaming free in nature and not something that has ever even been inside a house – or picked up into the air in a terrifying embrace (while hissing). I suggest to my clients all of the time that making assumptions when other people act a certain way, or do things that are hurtful to them, to not assume; however, I had never really realized that we make assumptions about things all of the time based on mis-information and poor judgement that have nothing to do with other people at all. I also realized we don’t necessarily do this out of ill intention or spite, sometimes we try to do the right thing and act out of kindness and make an assumption that causes more distress than good.

As I started to hear from my neighbors around my turtle inquires, I realized that there are a lot of wild turtles coming through my neighborhood in the search for water as our creek is running dry in this drought. These turtles are seeking a habitat that will support them. This made me incredibly sad as I realized that many of these creatures will more than likely die, or get hit by cars as their environment goes into crisis. Not this turtle, I decided. I took my wild beast, who by this time I had named Toodles (as everything becomes friendlier when given a cheesy pet name) to the closest body of natural water I could find. I hiked down this steep hill after trespassing behind this gated fence (feeling justified and still flying my cape of course) and put it on the shore of this lake. Half of the lake was already dried up and I fear for the animals who this water supports, but for now, this was the most viable option. The minute Toodles sensed the water it stretched out its neck and dove in. I was hoping this assumption was the better choice, but it was still an assumption nonetheless.

It was absolutely beautiful to watch him take off and dive for the depth of the bottom. As I continued to watch him, I noticed a few more heads popped up around the water and knew he was among others of his kind. He popped up a minute of so later and then dove again. It was a good moment. I am so thankful that I was able to realize my mistake and not trap this turtle into a life of “being saved” by me, otherwise known as “being put into captivity”, because I had made a poor assumption.

When clients talk to me about making assumptions with the relationships they have, or the people in their environments, I always encourage them to ask. Don’t assume you know what someone is thinking/feeling/doing, if you don’t know for sure – ask them. But what do you do when the assumption you are making is with someone or something who has no voice? Or what if you are making assumptions around a young child who can not express themselves with words at all? This poses a whole new challenge in the way we attempt to navigate the things that come across our paths. It really takes making assumptions to a whole new level, and one in which the consequences can really be tragic. For all I know, Toodles was trying to flee the very lake I took him back to. If we can’t ask, how do we ever really know?

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Select the Mediator Carefully | GeorgiaWorld Latest News Headlines
  2. Trackback: Select the Mediator Carefully | Social Dashboard
  3. Trackback: The Cause of Homosexuality Is Irrelevant — LiberalVoiceLiberalVoice — Your source for everything about liberals and progressives! — News and tweets about everything liberals and progressives
  4. Trackback: The Cause of Homosexuality Is Irrelevant,PrideNation Magazine
  5. Trackback: The Cause of Homosexuality Is Irrelevant | Pride & Equality Post
  6. Trackback: The Cause of Homosexuality Is Irrelevant - NEWS | Phones | Nigeria Science | Technology |Computers
  7. Trackback: The Cause of Homosexuality Is Irrelevant | The Cause of Homosexuality Is Irrelevant | Social Dashboard
  8. Trackback: The Cause of Homosexuality Is Irrelevant | Politics News Zone
  9. Trackback: The Cause of Homosexuality Is IrrelevantCode Flavour | Code Flavour
  10. Trackback: The Cause of Homosexuality Is Irrelevant | Gay Denver and All of Gay Colorado
  11. Trackback: The Cause of Homosexuality Is Irrelevant | So Stadium Status
  12. Trackback: Squirrels Look Out For Flying Nuts and More Nuts and More Nuts… September 19, 2014 » Where the nuts chase the squirrels | Where the nuts chase the squirrels
  13. Trackback: The Cause of Homosexuality Is Irrelevant | CauseHub
  14. drcarol1234
    Nov 20, 2014 @ 09:52:05

    Was getting ready to write an article on this topic today – instead I am using your clever piece which is much more interesting and charming than mine would have been.
    Dr. Carol Drury
    http://www.kwsexdr.com

    Like

    Reply

  15. Trackback: ASS – U – ME | Key West Sex Doctor

Leave a Reply

